Wednesday, 25 March 2015

Book Review: The Lie by C L Taylor



My Rating: 5/5

Available: Released 23 April 2015 - Kindle, Paperback, Kobo, Nook

Synopsis: This was no accident…

Haunting, compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Daughter.

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes . . .

Jane Hughes has a loving partner, a job in an animal sanctuary and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.

Five years earlier Jane and her then best friends went on holiday but what should have been the trip of a lifetime rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of the women.

Jane has tried to put the past behind her but someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves . . 

Tuesday, 24 March 2015

Book Review: A Cold Killing by Anna Smith (Rosie Gilmour Series)


My Rating: 4/5

Available: Kindle, Paperback, Kobo, Nook all due 26.03.15

Synopsis: Crime reporter Rosie Gilmour returns from hiding in Bosnia to a story of a brutal execution. University lecturer Tom Mahoney was shot at point blank range, the killing has all the signs of a hit. But who would want to kill a retired lecturer?

Rosie throws herself into the investigation, looking for a witness that has gone missing. A witness that might hold the key to the story. But she has her own reasons to stay hidden.

As Rosie digs deeper, she finds the story has connections to the Ministry of Defence and MI6 and Mahoney's past is darker than anyone could imagine.

Rosie's running out of time to find out the truth, before Mahoney's killers silence her for good.

Friday, 20 March 2015

Say Hello to my Guest Reviewers...

As many of you may (or may not) know I have been blogging for some years now and I love the fact that people are interested in what I think of a book. I admit it, I am a little bit of a book nerd and love it when I meet like minded people. However, book blogging is done for the sheer love of it, I don't get paid, I receive no cash benefits and I certainly couldn't make a living out of it. However, I am extremely lucky that I do (sometimes) get books earlier than their publication date. This doesn't mean I am obligated to 'like it' but I sometimes feel the pressure as I cant bear saying no to people.

Recently I have acquired a guest reviewer Johnny, and I am now chuffed to bits that I have another 2 guest reviewers. SO without further ado, I'd like you to meet them:-)

Wednesday, 11 March 2015

Book Review: The Treatment by Mo Hayder (Book 2 in Jack Caffrey Series)


My Rating: 4/5

Available: Hardcover, Paperback, Kindle, Audio, Kobo

Synopsis: A quiet residential street in south London.

A husband and wife are discovered, imprisoned in their own home. Badly dehydrated, they've been bound and beaten. He is close to death. But worse is to come: their young son is missing.

When Detective Inspector Jack Caffery is called in to investigate, the similarities with events in his own past make it impossible for him to view this new crime dispassionately.

And as he digs deeper - as he attempts to hold his own life together in the face of ever more disturbing revelations about both his past and his present - the real nightmare begins

Guest Book Review by Johnny: World Gone By by Dennis Lehane


Available: 10.03.15 Hardcover, Audiobook
Available: 07.05.15 Nook, Kobo
Available: 04.02.16 Paperback

Johnny's Rating: 4/5

Synopsis: Joe Coughlin is untouchable. Once one of America's most feared and prominent gangsters, he now moves effortlessly between the social elite, politicians, police and the mob. He has everything he could possibly want; money, power, a beautiful mistress, and anonymity.

But in a town that runs on corruption, vengeance and greed, success can't protect Joe from the dark truth of his past -- and ultimately, the wages of a lifetime of sin will finally be paid in full . 

Sunday, 8 March 2015

Book Review: The Wronged by Kimberley Chambers


My Rating: 5/5

Availability: 12th March 2015 - Hardcover, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
Availability: 18th June 2015 - Paperback 

Synopsis: When the going gets tough, the Butlers get even…

‘Murdered in 1980 she was, bless her. Now I’ll tell you the story of everything that’s happened since…’

No parent should ever have to bury their child, but God knows the Butlers have buried more than their fair share. Now, Vinny and Michael are planning the downfall of all who’ve wronged them. The Butlers don’t forgive or forget, and they take their secrets to the grave.

As yet more tragic events rip the family apart, loyalties are on a knife edge. Times are changing in the East End, and the brothers who have always stuck together are at each other’s throats. As the old saying goes – you keep your friends close, and your enemies closer…


But you keep your family right where you can see them.